The poppy.

Question: Some Muslim clerics are encouraging the wearing of the poppy. What do you think regarding this?

Answer: WW1 was a war of colonial powers that did not have the interest of humanity. The soldiers that were conscripted by the ruling elite were fodder for them. These unjust wars should not be romanticised. I remember one Tv host wearing a poppy telling a British African that slavery happened a long time ago and black people should get over it. There are no memorials held for the tens of millions who died during slavery and colonialism. Those wars were unjust just like the wars today. So I totally disagree with clerics encouraging Muslims to wear the poppy as it is hypocritical. My grandad fought in WW2 in Burma but I never celebrate this as he told me he was treated inferior to the British whites and he was not proud of having killed Japanese people for the colonial elite.

-ASRAR

Leave a comment